New book arrived!

The-Marvels

I have been eagerly awaiting the arrival of this new publication by Brian Selznick. After the success of the Invention of Hugo Cabret and the excellent Wonderstruck, I was excited to learn a new book, in the same format, was on the way.

It was delivered yesterday afternoon and I finished it last night.  I love the concept of reading part of the story through the excellent pencil drawings; I really get lost in them.  To begin with I fly through them anticipating what will happen, then I return to the drawings and go through them slowly savouring every beautiful detail.

PTDC0040PTDC0041

Look at the expression on the faces, including the dog! The boat really does look like it’s being tossed about.

As in the book Wonderstruck, 2 stories are told, one in pictures and one in words; both intertwine to a glorious ending.  The text is as rich in explicit descriptions as the drawings are detailed.  I loved it!

Leave a Reply

