Reading Games

After attending the Reading Matters conference in July, I received a Bananagrams game.  As I am always looking for new ideas to use in the library I thought I’d better take it out and have a look.  I’m hooked!

Bananagrams game
Bananagrams game

You place all the tiles in the middle and each player gets 21 each, then you have to make your own crossword using all your tiles. If you have a letter tile you can’t use you ‘dump’ it, the player who uses all their tiles first is ‘top banana’.  There are many variations of the game and I can see it being lots of fun played in small groups.

I enjoyed it so much I have signed up our school for the ‘Bananagrams’ championship; played in school over a 5-6 week period with the top banana going forward to a national competition, can’t wait.

One thought on “Reading Games

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

