New to me!

516DaC2JUvL

This is one of the books my new librarians chose for me to read over the summer holiday.

I haven’t read any Terry Pratchett books for a long time; the last being from the Discworld series, so this book was completely new to me and I was surprised to see when it was first published.

The first of a trilogy of books with Johnny Maxwell as the main character. He’s the average 11 year old obsessed with computers called upon to save the world!  The story moves along quickly moving from the action packed computer scenes to the more poignant moments dealing with mum and dad’s ‘trying times’.  It was written in the late 80’s and makes reference to the first Gulf war but the addition of an author’s note gives the background from where the story developed.

I think this will appeal to boys especially, simply because of the main themes; war, aliens, computer games.  It’s not a difficult read so I think 9+ readers will enjoy it, maybe leading them on to read the other books in the series or introduce them to a new author.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

