Children’s Books, not just for children!

Came across this article, which was written earlier this year and appeared in the Guardian; Children’s Books are never just for Children.

The article highlights the fact that many authors return to re-read books from their childhood and so many have stood the test of time, it ponders why more children’s books aren’t often considered for major awards.

It’s true that many of us read or listened to a book as a child and formed a life long bond with that book, perhaps passing it on to our children.  I remember reading The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, as a bedtime story, to my daughter when she was five and even after re-reading it 4 or 5 times with her it still remains one of my all time favourites.

For me children’s and young adult books offer perfect storytelling; one’s that can be re-read and read aloud.  Through my role now as school librarian I read more of this type of book than adult books but I feel enriched by them.

The children love the fact that I read ‘their’ books.  I am always being asked what I’m reading, what can I recommend, read anything good lately; these are just a few of the frequent questions I am showered with on a daily basis especially by the upper juniors.  My enthusiasm rubs off on the children and they often bring books to me asking if I’ve read it.  These conversations are vitally important for their development as readers for pleasure/enjoyment.

Children’s books are written with the ultimate aim of being read and re-read, that’s how they become the classics we know now and that includes picture books; I can’t get enough of them!

http://www.theguardian.com/books/2015/feb/16/childrens-books-are-never-just-for-children

2 thoughts on “Children’s Books, not just for children!

  1. The Guardian has a good ‘Books’ section, I like their coverage of children’s books.

    As a 50 year old man, I wonder what my co-workers would think if they knew my reading list includes Rosemary Sutcliff, Lloyd Alexander, and Tove Jansson. I do have a 6 year old son, but i do read a lot of these books on my own as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

