10 Classic Picture Books

Following on from my discussions around classic children’s novels and my ponderings about classic picture book lists, I decided to come up with my own.

They are all my choices based on popularity and longevity. There are so many new picture books I could include but the list would be exhaustive.

IMG_20150714_150352Haven’t got as far as putting them in order from 10 to 1 but here’s what’s included in my list;

Hairy Maclary – ever popular story about a tatty terrier.

We’re Going on a Bear Hunt – I think many, many children know this one by heart.

Guess How Much I  Love You – an all time favourite with parents and children alike.

Each Peach Pear Plum – love the strong rhyme in this book and the lovely illustrations that tell the story.

Elmer – Well loved story of Elmer the elephant.

Gruffalo – I don’t think any list of picture books would be complete without this one, still as popular.

Where the Wild Things Are – The party of all parties!

The Very Hungry Caterpillar – My daughter’s favourite.

The Tiger Who Came to Tea – The tiger is an unexpected visitor who eats them out of house and home then leaves.

Funnybones – Love the strong rhyme in this book too, great fun.

All these picture books are brilliant to read aloud, not just for the stories and rhythm but also the illustrations.  Looking closely at an illustration from a picture book can really develop early inference skills with children as well as helping children to form opinions with evidence – invaluable!

As I said these are my choices based on books I began reading to my daughter when she was younger (she’s now 24, but still remembers her favourites) and books I’ve read aloud to children in the school library, all well loved.

3 thoughts on “10 Classic Picture Books

  1. That’s a great list, couldn’t agree with your choices more! So we know the most popular book but have you been able to analyse the stats and find the most popular picture book this year from your library?

    Like

Leave a Reply

